Alien Skies II – JavaScript Yet Another Computer Language?


I tried to look into Web UI Development, especially in the context of RTC Extensions like dashboards and the like several times in the past. I couldn’t get it to fly. It was a total disaster so far. I couldn’t understand how all that works and what the fuzz was all about. The more I looked into it, the more confused I was.

Surprisingly, looking into Doors Next Extensions seems to have revealed the missing link(s) I needed to better understand the whole topic around JavaScript. I have talked to other people who had similar issues with JavaScript, so I hope it is worth sharing my thoughts here.

I am well aware that the topic and my approach to it could be very controversial. If you like to disagree with any of my assessment, please feel free to do so in the comments. I rarely dismiss comments, but please be aware that the comments in this blog are moderated xD.

I have a book about JavaScript, but I rarely see JavaScript like it is described in that book. So, how does this JavaScript stuff work?

Its Not The Language

As far as I can tell, the language itself does not really matter that much. The language syntax of JavaScript is very similar to other languages e.g. such as Java. The Language has inheritance mechanisms, the language can support event based, asynchronously processed and functional aspects. All in all, a collection of properties that are shared across several language families.

There are some issues with the language (at least from my, still uneducated, point of view). It is not type safe to get started. While this is very flexible it is also asking for trouble in my experience. JavaScript is very dynamic and does not get compiled. A lot of issues will be seen at run time and not during coding.

Anyway, to have a common language with a common syntax and semantic is probably useful if you have to switch the domains often. At least you don’t have to learn a new language over and over.

Its Not The Development Environment

I am missing a good library handling and context sensitive editor support. There might be some cool development environment out there, but it has eluded me so far. Any suggestions are welcome, as always.

I have seen the first computers making their appearance in schools. With enormous keyboards with two lines of 40 characters to display. Nothing one would associate with a computer today. I was lucky enough to be able to write my first own programs on Commodore PET, VIC-20, 64 and on the first IBM PC’s. Ignore the first program on a Texas Instruments calculator with 32 programmable steps. I have developed without debugger, because there were no debuggers available or not affordable e.g. you could buy in circuit debuggers for  embedded systems but that was sometimes unaffordable even for companies back then.

I have seen bad development environments and debugging by printf. It is not that bad with JavaScript, in browser based applications. It basically depends on what the use case is, if there is a good debugging environment available or not.

Feeding The Confusion

I am usually pretty good in spotting patterns. Looking into the JavaScript domain, I had a hard time finding the basic ones. A lot of the confusion I felt is also, in hind sight, probably related to the fact that there is not just one JavaScript. There are multiple. And they are used in different ways and using different patterns. In addition to that the expression JavaScript is often used in contexts, where it would probably be better to talk about Web or JavaScript libraries or frameworks instead.

  1. There is the JavaScript that runs in browsers. This JavaScript usually works together with CSS and HTML. It is used to create dynamic content and presentations in the Web to be able to provide more or less usable UI’s in a browser, designed to show more or less static HTML documents. The JavaScript engine is built into and shipped with the browser and there are different engines and development environments for different browsers. This type of JavaScript basically requires to understand how JavaScript, HTML and CSS work in combination and how to control their interaction.
  2. Browser based JavaScript is integrated in several different frameworks and tool kits such as Ajax/Dojo and others.
  3. There is NodeJS, which claims to be Java Script and actually is sever side JavaScript processing and a ton of libraries and frameworks that are available for it. The only common part I can identify here is the language that is used. I did not look into the details however, so maybe there is more e.g. the run time used could be one of the common ones.

So when I started to look at the Doors Next Extensions which said JavaScript, I realized quickly, that there were constructs in the examples that I had never seen before in any JavaScript example. The normal pattern again, every time I looked at something with JavaScript inside and thought I had some basic knowledge already, I saw something different. This time however I was able to figure out what I was missing and this seems to help with all the other cases as well.

The Doors Next Extension Mechanism

The Doors Next Extension mechanism is based on JavaScript, HTML and CSS. The API supports TypeScript which provides with a more type safe and compile like way of developing JavaScript. The Doors Next API itself comes with a Typescript interface definition. Some of the examples that are provided use jQuery a JavaScript based library and framework. The latter means that the extensions look a bit uncommon.

Uncommon Common

To some extend this seems to be fairly typical for my experience with JavaScript. Almost every solution I have seen has some common part that can be found in other solutions. But looking across all the examples there is only a tiny common core, which often is basic JavaScript functions. If the JavaScript based solution deals with UI’s, there is usually the common CSS and HTML, if it does not focus on UI’s this is missing. Since there are so many frameworks and libraries, Java Script based solutions can look very different and it is important to understand the detailed frameworks and resources that are used in the specific example.

Summary

Granted, it took a while for me to come to terms with JavaScript,  but looking into the Doors Next Generation Extension Mechanism provided me with some important insight. This will help me to understand these technologies in other contexts as well. I am looking forward to playing with Doors Next Extensions and add the results to this blog.

About rsjazz

Hi, my name is Ralph. I work for IBM and help colleagues and customers with adopting the Jazz technologies.
This entry was posted in CLM, Doors Next Generation, extending, Jazz and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Alien Skies II – JavaScript Yet Another Computer Language?

  1. Tim Feeney says:

    I look forward to seeing your future posts on DNG extensions. I’m confident that you’ll master DNG extensions and make significant community contributions much like you have done for extending RTC.

Leave a Reply

