Give Me A REST


Recently I worked with OSLC/REST and discovered a nice REST client that I find really useful. I thought I would share it with you here.

If you have found tools that help you with this and want to share, please comment to the post. Please use English, describe the tool, what it does and why it is useful. If possible provide the URL in the comment as well. This will help me distinguishing the valuable information from occasional spam that slips through.

* Update * See Postman as another alternative. Links can be found below.

I have actually not done that much work with OSLC/REST in the past. I worked with the Java API’s most of the time. I have however done the Open Services for Lifecycle Collaboration Workshop in the past and also helped submitting it in classes.

The workshop suggests to use Firefox and one of the REST Client Addons available. I did exactly that and it was a pain in the, err.., neck. Why? The whole URL was maintained in one line and that, every time I changed the focus, snapped back to the position in the front. I found myself frantically scrolling back and forth trying to find the last edit location. In general the display did not give me a good way to understand what the request did and if there were issues with it. Not pretty. I tried out alternatives, but I couldn’t find anything satisfying.

I decided to try a different browser – despite the fact that I really like Firefox.

I looked into Chrome, which I recently started to use for JavaScript based Attribute Customization as described in this Wiki page and the Process Enactment Workshop (Lab 5). It suits me way better for JavaScript debugging, as I find it a lot easier to find the script, compared to Firefox Firebug.

The Nugget – Advanced REST Client

I discovered the Advanced REST client. And I it’s a nugget. A really big one actually, I think. You can simply download and install it in Chrome and have it in your Apps tile in the bookmarks bar.

AppBookMarksThis makes it easy to reach and does not take away a lot of real estate.

Now what are the things that distinguish this from other REST tools I have seen so far?

URL Management

The URL management is really nice as it basically allows you to work in two modes.

There is the traditional mode where you have the whole URL in the URL field. This is most efficient to use if one has a complete URL available and wants to copy/paste it.

Traditional URL ManagementThe first real great difference however is the small triangle in front of the URL field. It allows you to automatically decompose the URL into its interesting parts with respect to REST and also to easily manage the query parameters.

Note, I found some URL’s where this does not work as expected for the decomposition. You can still use the feature, but folding/unfolding needs some manual work during unfolding. I hope this gets corrected soon.

Decomposed URLThis is very useful, as it allows to focus on the parts that are really interesting and removes the need to parse the URL visually. It is really easy to edit, add and remove query parameters to create the needed content.

There are also several ways to help with encoding and decoding the request data.

The same is available for the request headers.

Request HeaderIt is possible to use the Raw mode to copy and paste complete headers and it is possible to switch to a Form view like above that works similar to the query parameter section.

 Manage Projects And Save Requests

The second really useful feature is the ability to manage requests and to save them in projects. This allows to store requests that work or are under construction for later use.

Manage And Save RequestsWhile I was looking into OSLC, I had issues with my request several times and I found myself maintaining my URL’s in a text file while I was exploring. Being able to save the request makes it a lot easier and it is no longer necessary to switch between applications.

If something works, it can be kept and changed to work towards the final goal.

You can have multiple projects to manage the request, for example for different projects.

Other REST Tools

I found another REST tool that has similar capabilities.

Postman is available as application (online usage) and as Packaged App. It provides similar capabilities, except I miss the encoding/decoding option. The advantage of Postman is that it keeps a request history. This is easier to use compared to saving the change every time.

Summary

The Advanced REST client together with Chrome made my life a lot easier and I can only recommend to use it. If you do, give it a big thumbs up and donate to help supporting it.

As always I hope this is useful to the Rational Team Concert and CLM users out there.

About rsjazz

Hi, my name is Ralph. I work for IBM and help colleagues and customers with adopting the Jazz technologies.
This entry was posted in CLM, Jazz, REST/OSLC, RTC and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Give Me A REST

  1. lionel8486 says:

    HI Ralph, couldn’t agree more about the pain points in the REST Client on FF. thanks for sharing this great tool. I happened to start using this tool recently while working on some OSLC issues but didn’t realize the URL Management feature. Now I know the tool better and it makes my “REST service” life much easier. 🙂

  2. Hey Ralph, thanks for sharing, looks really nice.
    I have always used either RESTClient or Poster, both for FF; even in big projects. Mostly, as yourself, for being a FF user, however I may need to switch at least for this kind of tasks.
    Adding my two cents to the discussion, a video comparing RESTClient and Advanced Rest Client: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HgWzVa7qYas

  3. Pingback: Advanced REST Client | Rational® Publishing Engine™ Actual

Leave a Reply

