Using Reference Presentations to Create Links and Show Linked Work Items in RTC


I recently complained to our development that creating and displaying links between work items is too complex. I wanted a special presentation for that purpose. To my excitement I was instructed, that we have such a feature. Joy! This post explains how you use it.

I have done so much customization in RTC, that I was convinced I knew all of it already. Hubris! My bad. So there are things I haven’t done in RTC. I assume others also have not spotted this and I think it is worth blogging about.

Add a Presentation of Type References

To be able to show specific references (aka links) from the current work item to other items you basically have to add a new presentation to your editor presentation. On the Editor presentation editor select the section where you want to show the presentation and click Add Presentation….

The Presentation you want is a Non-Attribute-based Presentation. Choose this option and select References from the available set of choices.

In the Link Type selection drop down, select the reference (aka link type) you want to see and maintain here.

The image below shows the steps.

Add Reference Presentation

Use a Presentation of Type References

Once you have done that, you have a new presentation that will show only the references/links that qualify. It will also allow you to create new references/links from that dialog. The image below shows what you can do:

Use Reference PresentationSummary

This kind of presentation allows you to view and modify relationships in a more organized way on the work item editor and can help you understanding the relationships better, especially if the relationship represents important information in your object model.

As always I hope this information is useful to someone out there and helps using RTC more effective.

About rsjazz

Hi, my name is Ralph. I work for IBM and help colleagues and customers with adopting the Jazz technologies.
This entry was posted in Jazz, RTC, RTC Process Customization and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Using Reference Presentations to Create Links and Show Linked Work Items in RTC

  1. atruelsen says:

    Ah – I like!
    We’re linking RTC work items to ClearQuest records and this makes it much easier 🙂
    Thanks Ralph.

    /anders

  2. Guido Schneider says:

    I was knowing this because I developed a new process from scratch. But just now I got the idea to have e.g. a tab with multiple presentations for the links we defined to use. E.g. parent/child and resolves/resolved by.
    Also the idea to have an own presentation for the link to CQ is a very good idea. But there I have an issue, how can I separate defects managed in CQ from defects managed in the project area itself. Our process has defines the enterprise defects in CQ (e.g. your APAR’s), but the team defects (more informal within a sprint) in a workitem.. Both have today the affected by defect link type.
    Another remark I have in this area since years (its one of my highest ranked topic at each conference): The link presentation should allow to display OSLC attributes from the linked object. E.g. status, priority, owner. This means there should be an enhanced presentation available. But development tells me always this is difficult and it harms performance to much etc..
    Is there somewhere n example how to write such an own presentation? If yes maybe I can build something by my own.

    • rsjazz says:

      Guido, I think the link types for WI and CQ links are different.

      With respect to the attributes – I have seen this request with other customers. I am not sure what the status is though. I would create an enhancement request.

      My responses will be slow the next few weeks, as I am out of office.

  3. Vishnu says:

    Hi Ralph,

    I have added this presentation for adding children & it works in the eclipse client fine. However in the RTC web client I am unable to see this presentation itself. I am using RTC 4.0. Does this presentation hold good only for eclipse client & not web ?

    Thanks
    Vishnu M

  4. Sam says:

    Thanks Ralph.. learn something new all the time.. no use case at the moment, but did have one a couple years ago.

Leave a Reply

